cucumber trellis

Here’s the cucumber box and trellis that we made this weekend.

Cucumbers will go on the left side of the photo and lettuce, spinach and chard will be on the right side.  By the time the summer heat and sun really hits, the cucumbers should be tall enough to give some shade to the greens.

The box is 4′ x 2′ x 10.5″ deep.  The trellis is somewhere around 5′ 5″ tall and I still need to attach the trellis netting to the angled side.   We used 1×4’s and attached them to scrap wood at the corners.  We used 1×2’s for the trellis part of it.  I stapled 1/4″ wire fencing to the bottom to keep out what I suspect are voles.  They appear to have wiped out some of our flowers and a shrub that we planted last summer and I don’t want them getting at my veggies.

2 responses to “cucumber trellis

  1. great idea! I’ll put the tellis up front in a 8×4 box. Leaving plenty of room for all shade veggies grow. thnks

    • Glad it was helpful! The trellis was super easy to make. I originally wrapped twine around the trellis but the cucumbers were too heavy and the twine snapped. I ended up replacing it with trellis meeting, which held up really well.

Leave a comment